Let The Rain Come Down: Prince Estate Drops Acoustic Version of ’17 Days’

In May 1984, Prince released “17 Days” as the B-side to “When Doves Cry,” the first single from his multi-platinum, award-winning “Purple Rain” soundtrack. An alternate version was released Thursday as the second single from his upcoming “Piano & A Microphone 1983” album, due Sept. 21 from his Estate. (The first single was a cover of “Mary Don’t You Weep,” which Spike Lee used during the end credits of “BlacKkKlansman.”)

On this “17 Days” outtake, Prince attacks the piano with his usual ferocity of a caged tiger, and notice how the line that ultimately ended up, “main drag is knowing that…you’re holding someone else tight,” didn’t quite start out that way. 😉

“Piano & A Microphone 1983” is an enhanced version of the bootleg CDs “Intimate Moments With Prince” and “More Intimate Moments” that had been floating around for decades. Estate advisor Troy Carter said of the new 35-minute long release: “This raw, intimate recording, which took place at the start of Prince’s career right before he achieved international stardom, is similar in format to the ‘Piano & A Microphone Tour’ that he ended his career with in 2016. The Estate is excited to be able to give fans a glimpse of his evolution and show how his career ultimately came full circle with just him and his piano.”

Track listing for “Piano & A Microphone 1983”:

1. 17 Days
2. Purple Rain
3. A Case Of You
4. Mary Don’t You Weep
5. Strange Relationship
6. International Lover
7. Wednesday
8. Cold Coffee & Cocaine
9. Why The Butterflies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s